Masterworks I – Celebration: The BSO is Back!
October 10, 2021 at 3 p.m.
Collins Center for the Arts
Get Tickets

Masterworks I – Celebration: The BSO is Back!

Sunday, October 10, 2021 at 3 p.m.
Collins Center for the Arts

Celebration: The BSO is Back!

Lucas Richman, conductor
Joyce Yang, piano
Reinaldo Moya, composer

A thrilling range of orchestral color is on display in the BSO’s return to live performance

What’s Interesting About This Concert

  • The BSO presents a full orchestra on stage for the first time in nearly 2 years, with Benjamin Britten’s Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra serving as a showcase for every section of the ensemble
  • A world premiere of international significance: Reinaldo Moya’s multimedia Concerto for Piano, Strings and Percussion is inspired by the works of Venezuelan artist Carlos Cruz-Diez
  • Acclaimed pianist Joyce Yang makes her long-awaited BSO debut
  • Aaron Copland’s Fanfare for the Common Man heralds a new beginning in spectacular fashion

The Program

  • Aaron Copland | Fanfare for the Common Man
  • Giachino Rossini William Tell Overture
  • Reinaldo MoyaConcerto for Piano, Strings and Percussion, Joyce Yang, piano
  • Benjamin Britten | Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra


  • Season subscriptions are now available; new subscribers save 40%
  • Single tickets go on sale September 7th, 2021

Digital Access: October 11 to October 25, 2021

  • In-person ticketholders receive complimentary digital access
  • Digital-only viewing will be available for $40 per household at