Masterworks I – Dvorák’s Cello Concerto
October 9, 2022 at 3 p.m.
Collins Center for the Arts

Masterworks I – Dvorák’s Cello Concerto

Sunday, October 9, 2022 at 3 p.m.
Collins Center for the Arts

Lucas Richman, conductor
Ifetayo Ali-Landing, cello

Dvorák’s Cello Concerto is brought to life by a rising young star at the opening concert of the BSO’s 127th season.

What’s Interesting About This Concert

  • Cellist Ifetayo Ali-Landing came to fame via her own TedX Talk and NPR Tiny Desk Concert after winning the 2017 Sphinx Competition’s Junior Division
  • Composer Nancy Galbraith’s use of percussion in her piece Fantasy for Orchestra from 2003 is explosive, persistent, and highly energetic
  • In addition to being one of the most important composers of the 20th century, Hungarian Béla Bartok was a pioneer in documenting his country’s folk music, which infuses his Dance Suite

The Program

  • Nancy Galbraith | Fantasy for Orchestra
  • Béla Bartok Dance Suite
  • Antonín Dvorák  |  Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 141
    • Ifetayo Ali-Landing, cello


  • Subscriptions are now on sale; 5 concert packages as low as $45 for new subscribers
  • Single tickets go on-sale September 16th
  • Digital streaming for this performance will be available from October 11th to 25th; details to follow